Hathern Band

Hathern Band is a First Section (CHAMPIONSHIP FROM JANUARY 2018) contesting brass band in Leicestershire with more than 140 years of history. We rehearse on Sunday and Tuesday evenings from 7:45 to 9:45pm at our dedicated band room on Pasture Lane, Hathern (click for map).

Our Musical Director & President

David Newman

Coming from a musical family David began playing the cornet at the age of six. During his formative years he successfully auditioned for a position with the National Youth Brass Band of Great Britain, with whom he played for five years.

In 1970 he joined the City of Coventry Band on soprano cornet, where contesting sucess took him to the Royal Albert Hall on several occasions. David also played on many broadcasts and recordings, and was a member of the famous Men of Brass under the baton of the great Harry Mortimer.

David became the Musical Director of Hathern Band in 1979 making him, we believe, the longest serving conductor in Leicestershire. Under his baton Hathern Band has appeared in five National Finals including an appearance at the Royal Albert Hall. After 30 years of loyal service to the Band, David Newman was given the title of President of Hathern Band at a Patrons Evening in 2009.

The players

Front row cornets

Mike Wood, Susan Hargrave, William Fairlamb, Stuart Morgan,
Principal cornet Solo cornet Solo cornet Solo cornet

Back row cornets

Ken Powell, Lesley Bentley, Dave Walker, Chris Mulvaney, Stephen Guerin, Rob Fairlamb, Jonathan Stevenson,
Soprano cornet Repiano cornet Second cornet Second cornet Third cornet Third cornet Third cornet

Flugel Horn & Tenor Horns

Dru Sparks, Neal Williams, Sam Garton, Hannah Peak,
Flugel Horn Solo Horn First horn Second horn


Simon Baum, John Baum, Joe Dobos-Southgate,
Principal trombone Second trombone Bass trombone

Euphoniums & Baritones

Graham Rix, Dave Tooth, Wendy Rix, Sam Bradbeer,
Principal Euphonium Second Euphonium First Baritone Second Baritone


James Kerfoot, Mary Sibson, Steve Hunnybun, Colin Allen,
Eb Bass Eb Bass BBb Bass BBb Bass


George Baum, Stephanie Harpham,
Percussion Percussion